Skip to content

BBC Music Research

November 12, 2010

BBC Music Magazine is a magazine published monthly in the United Kingdom by BBC Worldwide, the commercial subsidiary of the BBC. Reflecting the broadcast output of BBC Radio 3, the magazine is devoted primarily to classical music, though with sections on jazz and world music. Each edition comes with a free audio CD, often including BBC recordings of full-length works. The magazine’s circulation from January to December 2007 was 47,104. Profits “are returned to the BBC”. For its October 2009 edition, the magazine asked 10 composers to discuss the latest trends in Western Classical music in the 21st-century. (Taken from Wikipedia)

I have tried to broaden my research by looking at different type of magazine, for instance this BBC classical music magazine doesn’t appeal to me and most other teenages. This has obviously been aimed at the older age group as it’s a very simple cover (boring in my opinion). For instance, the masthead is a very classic font similar to Times New Roman, the main image is then also very simple and not very exciting or dynamic like some of the other magazines I have researched. The cover lines are all straight and simply fitted onto the page. There are not crazy angles or bright contrasting colours. A very boring cover in my opinion and one I hope I will never re-create!

No comments yet

Leave a comment