Skip to content

Q3. What have you learned from your audience feedback?

April 26, 2012

I collected audience feedback in a number ways, voice recordings, polls, questionnaires and social network to name a few. I felt that audience feedback was vital to the development of my trailer, so I held viewing sessions of my trailer and emailed my trailer to audience’s so I could get feedback via there.

Film Trailer Feedback: 

You’ve probably just watched my interviews with two friends of mine, although they both do try to make the interview about how funny they are instead of the trailer, their feedback is still valid. The first friend, Nathan told me that ‘the falling off the cliff bit’ was the most effective and said he felt like EHH is this going to happen!? I assume he felt the tension rising. He said he also felt that the strongest image of the trailer was the female actor, she conformed what he was expecting and fulfilled the role of a mourning partner.

Giorgio’s feedback is very constructive, he immediately recognized the genre as social realism unlike Nathan who said he felt it was a postmodern genre (which makes no sense). Similarly thought Giorgio and Nathan both felt the fall of the cliff was the most effective part of my trailer, although I was happy with this I certainly didn’t feel this was my strongest part. Giorgio’s reason for this being his favourite part was that it built tension before the death much like Nathan’s opinion! Giorgio felt that the cemetery scene lingered in his mind after the trailer, at first I agreed with this as I feel this is a powerful part to the trailer but then he felt it was scary. This wasn’t exactly the response I was hoping to evoke and feel confused as to why he feels this. Both feedbacks agreed the narrative of the film or of what you can tell of the film from the trailer was a typical linear narrative.

The images below show audience feedback via email. Email was an easy way to obtain feedback as it did require much effort from either party, I’ve found that people are much more likely to get involved with feedback if it requires minimal effort! These email feedbacks helped me develop my trailer; the first email brought to light a bodge job cut at 33seconds which I changed immediately and also put forward a valid suggestion which I adapted to suit the feedback. The second email helped a lot too, although the feedback was not as in depth, it was still helpful and I acted upon it changing the last sequence and adding in titles.

I also used my wordpress blog to gain audience feedback and set up polls to find out the opinion of my audience on sequences that needed changing etc. These polls gave me an honest insight into what my audience was thinking, it was sometimes brutally honest as they are anonymous so the audience has no fear that I’ll come hunting them down if they say terrible things.

Another tool I used for my trailer feedback was Soundcloud (www.soundcloud.com) This site enables you to record sounds from your phone and upload them onto the site, directly off your android. This is extremely convenient as I could interview Robyn (my victim in the clip) anyway and ended up in a art room if you’re wondering. Robyn’s feedback was helpful as it was very positive although she confused upon what genre my trailer fitted into, as you can hear she pauses and stutters. This is a weakness in my trailer.

As I said above, I held viewing sessions of my trailer so that I could get audience feedback from a group of people, after these sessions I handed out questionnaires and asked my peers to fill out what they thought about my trailer. Here is the feedback:

The questions I asked where – (Out of ten)

Does this work as a trailer?

Jamie said 8, Paul said 10, Connor said 10 and Dan said 10.

Does it make you want to see the film?

Jamie said 9, Paul said 9, Connor said 10 and Dan said 8.

Did the trailer sustain your interest?

Jamie said 8, Paul said 9, Connor said 9 and Dan said 10.

Is the genre of the film established by the trailer and what genre do you think it is? 

Jamie said 7 he said he felt it was “arty and indie” and closely linked to social realism, Paul said 9 he said he felt it was drama, Connor said 9 he said it was social realism and Dan said 10 he said it was social realism.

What aspects/features/shots/messages are most effective?

Jamie: The fall because it builds the suspense well and the music cuts out perfectly.

Paul: The layering of both shots at the start, music fits really well, title looks professional, variety of camera angles.

Connor: The music, when the girls head was see through.

Dan: The fall because it builds up with tension and then suddenly happens. 

What image from the film lingers in your mind after viewing the trailer? 

Jamie: The shot of the character on the floor, this is effective as it builds up to this final shot.

Paul: The shots outside look really good, very colourful and visually appealing.

Connor: Splatted body because it’s what everyone was waiting for.

Dan: The fall as it builds to this and I wasn’t expecting him to actually die.

What did you ‘understand’ about the film’s narrative from the trailer? 

Jamie: It was a lot like other films except the action was at the beginning.

Paul: When her boyfriend has a terrible fall she has to deal with his death.

Connor: It was a typical narrative.

Dan: I understood that is was just like any other film except the beginning had all the action in

How did you feel the length of the trailer was? 

Jamie, too short. Paul, just right. Connor, just right and Dan, just right

Choice of actors?

Jamie said 8, Connor said 8, Paul said 9 and Dan said 10

Choice of location & mise en scene? 

Jamie said 10, Paul said 8, Connor said 10 and Dan said 10

Choice of lighting?

Jamie said 10, Paul said 8, Connor said 8 and Dan said 10. 

Choice of music?

Jamie said 10, Paul said 10, Connor said 10 and Dan said 10. 

How well did the music help establish the genre? 

Jamie said 10, Paul said 9, Connor said 8 and Dan said 10 (what a surprise)

I gained a lot of insight into my audience’s opinion of my trailer because of this questionnaire. I learnt that the most effective part of my trailer was the fall, this is actually very interesting as it is at the beginning meaning that it must of had a real effect on my audience to sustain their attention until questioning after the viewing. I also learnt from my audience that the genre is quite confusing, whilst questioning them it was evident that they didn’t quite know how to determine the genre my film fitter into.

Facebook also helped me out a lot when conducting my research, I asked a friend a member of my target market a question or two to find out his views on my trailer…

I learnt from this feedback from social networking sites that:

– The actors in my trailer supported what the audience expected, they conformed to the typical drama/social realism conventions of actors.

– The trailer and music matched each genre as they both attracted the same audiences.

Finally I received teacher feedback from a trainee teacher, she advised me on instead of having long shots of actors in my trailer to break it up by focusing particularly on certain elements. She said she felt as though I had ‘too many, too long shots’ another word of advice from her was to break up these long shots with titles, whether it’s introducing the actors or quotes from critics, it was just vital to break it up and keep the audience occupied!

Poster audience feedback:

I conducted my poster feedback on the social network site Facebook, I questioned particular friends that I felt would enjoy my film because this meant my feedback would be valid.

From the conversation above I learnt that the most noticeable element of my posters is the title which entices the audience, James felt that the image was powerful and drew the audience in as it was intriguing. Once again there is an issue with the genre of my film, although I am not worried about this for my poster because I wanted my film poster to be ambiguous and dark, when designing something with this specification it’s going to have connotations of horror etc. James felt that that my poster was seductive, although this is an interesting word to use, I feel encouraged that it had that effect on him.

Magazine audience feedback:

I conducted my magazine research again, on Facebook as I felt this was an effective and easy way to get access to my target market. My feedback was mixed and I was apprehensive to put some of it on here but I think sometimes negative feedback is good as it knocks you down and makes you re-adjust the way you view your work. Here it is:

I asked them:

1. Is the main article obvious, does it catch your eye immediately?

2. Do you feel it looks like a magazine, does it conform to the usual conventions?

3. Do all the colours work together or is the scheme all wrong?

4. What was the first thing you noticed on the cover and why?

I took Amanda’s response first and was dissapointed with the feedback, I then basically went back to my magazine and changed the elements she criticised. At first my magazine had no font that differentiated itself from the rest of the body but because of Amanda’s response I changed this and then asked James Dimery what he thought.

I was much more pleased with James’ response as it was exactly what I was hoping for. He EVEN commented on the font, the thing that I had changed. Although he did pick up on the lack of colour but I think was being too nice to be critical, if I were to redesign I would change this as Amanda and James commented on this.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

